Field trip to the aquarium

By: Jackelinne Rodriguez

My class went to the aquarium yesterday to explore marine life and many other animals. I unfortunately did not go because I had an experience of a lifetime the past week. I went to Santa Clara to perform with various artists that are very popular in pop culture internationally. My orchestra and I shared the stage at the Superbowl halftime show with artists such as Beyonce, Coldplay, and Bruno Mars. It was an amazing experience from beginning to start. My orchestra had stayed in a hotel in Salinas and were greeted by guests staying at the hotel there as well.

I’m in the middle of all the amazing energy !

Pretty proud of my fellow buddies in the orchestra 🙂

My favorite part about the whole trip was getting a chance to really get to know my peers and have a chance to connect with them in a deeper level. Including the fact that I GOT TO MEET AND BREATHE THE SAME AIR AS QUEEN B, COLDPLAY, AND BRUNO MARS, they were all very humble people and excited to see us there. Despite the long hour rehearsals and sleepless nights just trying to get the notes right, I was glad to see it paid off.

Being on stage and seeing the thousands of people in front of us made me speechless. I couldn’t believe my eyes and my heart stopped for a quick second. It was sad to see it all finally end and head back into the bus so that our group could get ready to be leaving the next day. Heading back to LA, my peers and I already missed the hotel and the memories made there. Getting off of the bus seeing a lot of families, news reporters and cameras greeting and welcoming us  back home. Filled in tears, I was glad I was not the only one. The past week had been a lot to take in and I still don’t think my little heart has processed everything yet. I had tons of fun and can’t wait for what new opportunities the future holds for my orchestra and I. 

Leave a comment